How to Spice up Noodles

Happy New Year!

I pray 2016 brings us all unending happiness, prosperity, and love.

A little background about Indomie noodles and I. We’ve come a long way! As a kid, this was practically all I ate! I’m not entirely sure why I love Indomie so much, but I do! After my mom finally agreed to let me into her kitchen at age 8, I decided to find different ways to make indomie. I tried so many techniques including; indomie in creamy sauce (with evaporated milk), indomie in ketchup sauce (don’t judge me lol), and of course, my all time favorite, stir fried indomie.

In this post, I’ll be showing you how I take my regular noodles (Ramen or Indomie) and make it into something fantastic… I do this quite frequently, so look out for more variations

Here’s what you’ll need:

  1. Noodles ( I eat 1 pack of the regular size, I make 3-4 for two people)
  2. Cooking Oil (1 cooking spoonful)
  3. Onions
  4. Bell Peppers (any color works)
  5. Tomatoes (optional)
  6. Carrots (optional)
  7. Shrimps
  8. Meat (beef chops, sausages/franks, meatballs, or chicken)
  9. Habanero peppers (Yellow pepper for my Nigerians, or ose Nsukka for the igbos)
  10. Sweet corn (optional)
  11. Additional Spices: Salt, Black and Cayenne pepper, Ground ginger, Garlic salt, Knorr bouillon cubes.

Directions

Step 1:

                                     IMG_0003 IMG_0004

Chop up all the onions, tomatoes, peppers, carrots, and meat into cubes. Cut the shrimp in halves if they are tiny or into 3 or 4 pieces for jumbo shrimps. Place the chopped items in a plate.

Step 2: Boil water. Amount of water varies by number of noodle packets used.

Step 3: Pour the oil into a frying pan. When heated, add the chopped onions.

Step 4: If you’re using raw chicken or beef, add in the meat, and additional spices. Stir and leave to cook for about 7 minutes (or until fully cooked).


*The water should have boiled at this point*

Pour the noodles into the pot of boiling water and allow to cook for about 2 minutes.

IMG_0011

Pour into a strainer and run cold water to stop the noodles from cooking further.


Step 5: {I was making 15 packets of noodles so I used more ingredients than I normally would, especially the oil. Don’t be alarmed!}

                   IMG_0009 IMG_0007

Add the shrimps and one packet of seasoning from the noodles.

Step 6: Add the tomatoes, bell and habanero peppers, and sweet corn.

Step 7:

 IMG_0013

Pour in the cooked noodles. Add the remaining packs of seasoning.

Step 8: Stir

Step 9:

IMG_0015

On low heat, allow the stir fry to sit for 3-5 minutes.

Step 10:

                         IMG_0016 FullSizeRender

Enjoy

Step 11: Try it out, and let the AfrikahnQueen know how it turned out!

Step 12: Watch out for more recipes!


Thank you!

-AfrikahnQueen

One thought on “How to Spice up Noodles

Leave a Reply

