The Introduction

Hey Loves! Here’s another short story! I wrote this several years ago…

Enjoy!


 

First of all, introduction. My name is Adamara; I am a Nigerian teenager on a mission- a mission to find true happiness.

I am an undergraduate with dreams and aspirations to be successful, and ultimately, be the best.

I was born into a large family that hails from southeastern Nigeria, Anambra state to be precise. Growing up, I was typically around adults, which led me to think above my peers; like an adult.

I was a chubby, happy, smiling baby- at least that’s what I was told. Listening to stories from my childhood at this age simply embarrasses me. I remember a story my uncles told me; at age six, they took me to a “joint” (an outdoor restaurant) where they sold isi-ewu (goat head), ngwo-ngwo, and their likes. The waiter walked up to our table to take our orders. My uncles placed theirs, and so did I. “Please, can I have isi-ewu and maltina?” I said. Sitting in complete shock, my uncles and the waiters stared at me, and soon burst out laughing. Thinking back, I wonder what was going through my head that night, as a six year old. Oh! The innocence of children!

Two words I will never forget thanks to my wonderful mother are; “focus” and “concentrate”. A day never went by without my mom using either or both of those words, except she was ill.

Being an only child, my cousins were pretty much my siblings, although they were either much older, or much younger. I was closest to my male cousins Mickie J and Frankie. Mickie was a clown! He always made me laugh. I remember him always putting me on his shoulders and carrying me around the house, and my mother getting scared that he would drop her baby. I remember Mickie and Frankie tickling me till I cried, literally. We had fun, real fun.

School now is overrated; nursery school was the real deal! Drawing and coloring all day, chatting with my little friends, lunch, and nap time. I had absolutely no worries!

So far, my senior secondary school days were the most memorable days of my life. To clear the air, boarding school is not as bad as they make it seem, it can actually be really fun, depending on the school, and students.

I remember our leadership training, in Jos, Plateau State, Nigeria. That training changed my perspective. We came to face our fears, hardships, and develop inner strength. Our mantra was “The standard measure of a child is not how he/she dwells in luxury, but how he/she deals with hardships and inconveniences.” This goes a long way because life is not a bed of roses, even if it were; roses have thorns.

I remember being elected the social prefect; I was super excited! I enjoyed planning social events for my fellow students. It wasn’t easy. I could not please everyone at the same time, no one can. I had to distinguish my leadership role from my personal relationships with other students. It was all worth it in the end.

Now, as a college student, I am building my career. I want to wake up every morning and be excited to go to work. I want to visit more countries than my mother has. I want to be fluent in at least four languages. I want to experience different cultures. I want to get married and have a family, at the right time. Ultimately, I want to be happy, and this is my journey to find true happiness….

Leave a Reply

