The Dilemma

This is a piece I rushed through last week for a job application, lol.
Enjoy….

This is the story of a young woman who lives in a society where pre-marital sex, unwanted pregnancies and abortions are frowned upon. She was forced to go to an unqualified doctor for an abortion because she couldn’t talk to anyone else about the situation without getting chastised. Every woman should be able to have access to good health care without being judged.

Ade: These cramps hurt so bad! Sometimes I wish I was born a man.
Chi-Chi: Cramps? Wait!! I haven’t had my period since (checks the calendar) April! It’s July! Oh my God!
Ade: Are you kidding me? How didn’t you realize that you’ve missed your period for the past two months?
Chi-Chi: I’ve been so stressed out with school work and my family! It didn’t even occur to me. If I haven’t had my period that means I’m…
Ade: PREGNANT! Chi-Chi YOU ARE PREGNANT!
Chi-Chi: No!! I can’t be! He pulled out!! No!!! No!! My mother will kill me! My father… No!!!!
Ade: So what are we going to do now? We have one more year of college.
Chi-Chi: I have to call Dayo. He needs to know that he’s about to become a father. Maybe he can tell me what to do about this…
Ade: You’re right, you should let him know. I have to dash to the store to pick up a few things for my mom. If you need anything please let me know. I’m always here for you, literally.
Chi-Chi: I know…. Thank you.

Oh God! What am I going to do? I can’t be pregnant! No! I’m only 19! Maybe I should go to the pharmacy and buy a test. But people will look at me weird; they’ll think I’m a harlot. What have I done? I’ll just go to the hospital tomorrow. But, I can’t walk into the hospital and ask for a pregnancy test, the nurses will judge me. I’ll just complain of severe stomach aches. They’ll definitely run a pregnancy test on me.

NEXT DAY
God! Now that I have the confirmation what’s next? I can’t keep this baby! I’m too young. Let me call Dayo.
Chi-Chi: Hello?
Dayo: Hey boo! What’s up?
Chi-Chi: Nothing really… Are you busy right now? We need to talk.
Dayo: Oh Gosh! What have I done now?
Chi-Chi: Haha! You haven’t done anything, I just want to talk to you, in person.
Dayo: Okay! If you say so. I’ll come over in 15.
*knocks on door*
Dayo: Hello! Hello! Peace be unto this house.
Chi-Chi: Hey boo! Amen to that. Come in.
Dayo: You don’t look so good, what’s going on?
Chi-Chi: Nothing! Just stressed out as usual.
Dayo: What’s stressing my baby out this time?
Chi-chi: looks away. Do you want something to drink?
Dayo: Yes please, a glass of water.
Chi-Chi: I’ll be right back.
Chi-Chi: Here you go.
Dayo: Thanks. Drinks half the glass. So, are you gonna tell me what’s eating you up?
Chi-Chi: Dayo… I’m… We’re… I’m pregnant!
Dayo: What? Are you joking? That’s not possible! I pulled out! It can’t be.
Chi-Chi: I’ve got the results to prove it.
Dayo: Damn! No! No!! No!! Not right now! I’m about to graduate! I can’t deal with this right now. You have to terminate the pregnancy.
Chi-Chi: What? Just like that? You want me to give up a part of me in a heartbeat…
Dayo: Do you have a better idea? I’m 20 and you’re 19. Our parents would kill us if they knew we were dating yet alone having sex. We can’t keep this baby, not now.
Chi-Chi: This is probably the hardest decision I’ve ever had to make. But I think you’re right. My father has been hospitalized for the 8 weeks and my mother is hypertensive. I can’t bring this news to them. They’ll die and I don’t want that. Oh God.
Dayo: Don’t worry baby, I’ll be by your side throughout this process. We’ll go through it together. I know a guy who knows a guy that does this for a living. I’m sure he’ll be able to help us.
Chi-Chi: is he a real doctor? I don’t want to die.
Dayo: Yes! He is! He’s done it hundreds of times. You’ll be okay, I promise.
Chi-Chi: Okay… Just give me time. I’ll let you know when I’m ready.

A WEEK LATER.
I can’t believe I’m about to do this. This clinic looks sketchy. I hope they’ll use sterile equipment on me. I’m so scared.

Nurse: Chi-chi? Follow me.

A FEW HOURS LATER
Oh! Ouch! My tummy hurts so bad! Ouch! Ouch! Ah! Blood? Why am I bleeding? Ouch! God…. I’m dying.
A few hours later, Chi-chi’s friend’s found her lying lifeless in a pool of her own blood.

Leave a Reply

